WoW Forever Leveling Guide: Levels 1 to 60
Level your WoW Forever character from 1 to 60 with what changed: experience, new zones and dungeons, travel, talents, dual spec and a guide for every class, with beta details marked as such.
By the Everything WoW team. Published 20 October 2026. Updated 20 October 2026.
Forever Is Not Classic
Forever keeps the original world of Kalimdor and the Eastern Kingdoms, levels 1 to 60, the nine original classes and the pace of Classic combat, where an ordinary solo enemy takes about 10 to 15 seconds to kill. Blizzard is clear that it is "not a mode, a season, or a new version of Classic", and almost everything a leveling guide depends on has changed.
- Talents were redesigned for every class, with milestones moved, merged and made baseline.
- Races changed. Skyborne is a new race on either faction, and six new race and class pairings mean both factions have Paladins and Shaman.
- Items changed. Hit and critical strike are each one stat, every dungeon drop was re-examined and hundreds of items were added, so Classic best in slot lists do not apply.
- The world grew. There are more than 1,000 new quests, new and expanded zones, and nine new dungeons.
- There are no realms, only rulesets, and there is no flying and no level scaling.
Older Classic leveling advice is useful background at best. This guide keeps only what Forever's own sources support, and labels anything else as Classic background.
Choose Your Class
Each class has its own guide with its specs, roles, milestones, races and the open questions for that class.
| Class | Roles It Can Fill | Class Guide |
|---|---|---|
| Warrior | Tank, melee damage | Warrior guide |
| Paladin | Healer, tank, melee damage | Paladin guide |
| Hunter | Ranged damage, with a pet that tanks solo | Hunter guide |
| Rogue | Melee damage | Rogue guide |
| Priest | Healer, ranged damage | Priest guide |
| Shaman | Healer, ranged damage, melee damage | Shaman guide |
| Mage | Ranged damage | Mage guide |
| Warlock | Ranged damage, with a pet that can hold threat | Warlock guide |
| Druid | Every role: tank, healer, melee and ranged damage | Druid guide |
The new pairings are Gnome Priest, Human Hunter, Dwarf Shaman, Orc Mage, Troll Warlock and Undead Paladin. The Horde's only Paladins are Undead and the Alliance's only Shaman are Dwarves. Skyborne choose their faction at character creation and need the Skyborne Heroic Pack or a higher edition: Alliance Skyborne can be Mages, Horde Skyborne can be Shaman, and both can be Warriors, Hunters, Rogues or Druids.
Rulesets, Not Realms
Forever has no realm list. You choose a ruleset: Normal, where player versus player combat happens only by mutual consent, PvP or Roleplaying. Hardcore arrives after launch. Rulesets do not group with each other, and Horde and Alliance still cannot group.
Character names have two parts and are unique in your region, and you can set a language preference. Collections and Legacy Points are shared by your account across rulesets. The Forever hub keeps the dates and the latest news in one place, and recruitment is where guilds look for players.
How Experience Works
Blizzard has not said how Forever's experience curve compares with Classic's; it cited player feedback on leveling speed without giving numbers. What the beta showed:
- Dungeon quests give 50% less extra experience on top of normal quest values (seen in beta, 1 October).
- Dungeon enemies give about 20% more experience (seen in beta, 8 October).
- The party penalty uses each player's own level. If someone in the party is far above an enemy's level, nobody gets experience from it, so a high level friend cannot carry kills for you (seen in beta).
- Respawn rates were raised in many zones, among them Hillsbrad, Ashenvale, Wetlands, Duskwood, Thousand Needles, Redridge and Stonetalon (seen in beta).
- Crafted food can give a small experience bonus (confirmed).
- Rest matters more: Camping has a Boosted Rest feature (seen in beta), and the Legacy perk Well Rested raises the rested experience cap and rate (confirmed).
Talents, Milestones and Dual Spec
Talents start at level 10. Each class has three trees with the same number of rows as Classic's last patch, but the talents inside them were redesigned. One point milestone talents sit at 11, 21 and 31 points, and Forever adds a new milestone at 16 points. Some old talents became baseline abilities, including Blessing of Kings, Improved Mark of the Wild and Divine Spirit.
- Points: third party tools give one point per level from 10, so 51 at level 60, but Blizzard has not stated it.
- Respecs happen at a class trainer in a major city. On the beta a reset cost 1 silver, and Blizzard says the real cost is much higher after the first reset and falls back over time.
- Dual Specialization unlocks at level 40 (confirmed), so you can keep a solo spec and a group spec.
- Down-ranking is penalized. Spells far below your level get less benefit from spell power and a lower chance to trigger class effects (seen in beta). Spell ranks were reflowed so each new rank is a real upgrade.
- Wands get no bonus from spell damage and need you to stand still for half a second (seen in beta), so the Classic wand finish works less well.
Leveling builds and level 60 builds do different jobs; choose your level 60 role from the content in front of you. The beta kept moving talents until 15 October, so each class guide describes the direction of each tree and holds exact point layouts until launch.
Levels That Matter
| Level | What Opens |
|---|---|
| 10 | Your first talent point |
| 12 | Druids learn Revive, an out of combat resurrection, and Skyborne finish Zephras Isle |
| 20 | New baseline abilities: Paladin Consecration, Hunter Aimed Shot, Warrior Victory Rush, Priest Fear Ward and Devouring Plague, Druid Omen of Clarity (the Priest and Druid changes seen in beta) |
| 25 | Your account's first Legacy Point, if this is your first character to reach 25 |
| 30 | The Darkspear Islands battleground (levels 30 to 60) |
| 40 | Dual Specialization; riding at 60% speed, found in game files |
| 60 | The level cap; riding at 100% speed, found in game files; Mount Hyjal, at 60 by an unofficial atlas; raids from 9 December |
Zones and Routes
The six original starting zones remain, and the beta notes list quest fixes in all six. Forever's new and changed zones:
| Zone | Levels | What We Know |
|---|---|---|
| Zephras Isle | 1 to 12 | The Skyborne starting zone (confirmed) |
| Riverglades | Mid 30s to mid 40s | A new Eastern Kingdoms zone of rivers and frontier with more than 150 quests (confirmed) |
| Shen'dralas | Not announced | Between Mulgore and Desolace, tied to the Shen'dralar and Dire Maul (confirmed); press reports say 30 to 50, which Blizzard has not stated |
| Desolace | 35 and up | New Gelkis and Magram quests, starting with "Valley of Bones" (seen in beta) |
| Tirisfal Glades | Raised | Shadowvale and Bandarion Keep quest levels were raised (seen in beta) |
| Mount Hyjal | Endgame | Reached from Winterspring through Darkwhisper Gorge (confirmed); an unofficial atlas lists it at 60 |
Dalaran is hostile to the Horde in the open world, and Kirin Tor reputation is Alliance only (seen in beta). An unofficial atlas reports that Quel'Thalas and Gilneas cannot be entered.
Classic Bands as Background
Blizzard has not published level ranges for the original zones in Forever, and the beta changed quest levels in some of them. As Classic background only, the original bands ran roughly like this, with Forever's new zones placed where their announced ranges fit:
| Levels | Horde | Alliance |
|---|---|---|
| 1 to 12 | Durotar, Mulgore or Tirisfal Glades | Elwynn Forest, Dun Morogh or Teldrassil |
| 12 to 22 | The Barrens or Silverpine Forest | Westfall, Loch Modan or Darkshore |
| 22 to 30 | Stonetalon Mountains, Ashenvale or Thousand Needles | Redridge Mountains, Duskwood or the Wetlands |
| 30 to 40 | Stranglethorn Vale, Arathi Highlands or Desolace, and Riverglades from the mid 30s | Stranglethorn Vale, Arathi Highlands or Desolace, and Riverglades from the mid 30s |
| 40 to 50 | Tanaris, Feralas or The Hinterlands, and Riverglades to the mid 40s | Tanaris, Feralas or The Hinterlands, and Riverglades to the mid 40s |
| 50 to 60 | Un'Goro Crater, Felwood, the Western and Eastern Plaguelands, Winterspring | The same zones |
Treat these as planning bands, not entry requirements. Gather along your quest route rather than stopping to farm, and pull one group at a time: crowd control and threat still matter.
Dungeons While Leveling
Forever adds nine dungeons. Only the Excavation Site has an official level range so far; the others come from an unofficial atlas and may change.
| Dungeon | Where | Levels | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hall of Thanes | Beneath Ironforge | 13 to 18 | Unofficial atlas |
| Ruins of Lordaeron | Not stated | 15 to 20 | Unofficial atlas |
| Excavation Site | Wetlands | 26 to 31 | Beta notes |
| City of Dalaran | Dalaran, reached by the Horde through a Sewer Key questline | 28 to 33 | Unofficial atlas |
| The Drowned City | Stranglethorn coast | 35 to 40 | Unofficial atlas |
| Krol'dok Stronghold | Riverglades | 40 to 45 | Unofficial atlas |
| Alcaz Prison | Not stated | 48 to 53 | Unofficial atlas |
| Blackmaw Hold | Azshara | 55 to 60 | Unofficial atlas |
| Shaper's Terrace | Un'Goro Crater | 58 to 60 | Unofficial atlas |
At the level 30 beta cap, the open dungeons included Ragefire Chasm, Wailing Caverns, The Deadmines, Shadowfang Keep, The Stockade, Blackfathom Deeps, Gnomeregan, Razorfen Kraul, Scarlet Monastery, Razorfen Downs and Uldaman. The original dungeons above 30 are presumably present, since Legacy counts every level 46 to 60 dungeon, but the launch list is not published.
Every dungeon drop was re-examined, unique boss items are blue, and when an uncommon or rare item that binds on pickup drops, every eligible looter gets its appearance. Some bosses drop Blueprint recipes for camp objects, covered in the professions guide.
The Group Finder
The beta had a group finder that lists dungeons, shows which party members are eligible by level, offers a "Show All Level Ranges" option and lets a posting choose a voice mode, including Discord voice for the whole party. It works within one ruleset and faction. It appears to be a listing tool; whether it forms groups for you or teleports you is not known.
Choosing a Role
You do not need to commit at level 10. Dual Specialization at 40 lets you keep one spec for questing and one for groups, and Blizzard's own class articles name the roles below.
- Tanks. Warriors keep Taunt, with Improved Taunt now baseline. Druid Growl now has the same cooldown as Taunt. Paladins gain a real taunt: the Judgement of Seal of Fury taunts at 10 yards. Enhancement Shaman can tank small groups for a while, with no taunt announced.
- Healers. Paladins, Priests, Druids and Shaman can all heal. Bonus healing now also adds one third as much bonus damage, so healing gear is less of a dead end while you quest.
- Damage. Every class can deal damage, and Rogues are described as having the highest single target melee damage potential.
Carry a separate set of gear for each role you fill. When you compare questing with dungeons, count the time spent finding a group, traveling, drinking and recovering from failed runs, not only the experience per kill.
Travel and Mounts
There are no flying mounts. Mounts follow a new model: the price moved into riding training, and a mount is granted when you learn riding (confirmed). Game files show riding at level 40 and 60 for 60% and 100% speed, but the gold cost is not known, and reports conflict.
Game files also show new flight points at Farholde Keep, Rog'mar, Powderfuse Port, Summit of Eternity, Tainted Foothills and Tidegear Coast, and an unofficial atlas lists new ships from Stormwind Harbor to Auberdine and from Steamwheedle Port to Powderfuse Port. The Legacy perk Frequent Flier makes flights cheaper and faster. The WoW Forever map shows the zones and flight paths as they stand today.
Camping and Rest
The Cooking Fire becomes a Basic Campfire. A campsite gives you resting, vendors, repairs, profession workspaces and one hour buffs, and you must sit, lie, sleep or kneel to receive the rested buffs. You can cast, craft and buff while you wait. A Basic Campfire holds three crafted objects, one per player, on a shared one hour cooldown, and campfires deal no damage below level 5 (seen in beta). The objects come from professions; see the professions guide.
Legacy Progression
Legacy is account wide progression that sits beside your character's levels. You unlock it with your first Legacy Point: your first character to 25, a profession other than gathering to 150, or exploring the whole map. There are 65 challenges worth one point each, and each character can spend 16 points at launch, across three trees:
- Adventure, with Talented (talent points up to five levels early), Field Guide (a shorter camp cooldown) and Thrill of Adventure.
- Resourcefulness, with Reagent Economy (class reagents become free), The Quick and the Dead, and Permanence.
- Professions, covered in the professions guide.
Talented and the Well Rested perk are the ones aimed at leveling, and both reward an account that has already earned points.
Launch Checklist
- Pick a ruleset and faction. There is no realm to choose, and rulesets and factions cannot group with each other.
- Pick a class and race. Check the new pairings above, and remember Skyborne needs the Heroic Pack or higher.
- Reserve your name. Pack buyers can reserve names from 27 October to 3 November.
- Plan a profession pair you can afford, using the professions and gold guide.
- Save for riding at 40. The cost is unknown, so keep gold aside rather than spending it all on profession grinds.
- Know the dates. Launch is 4 November 2026 at 3:00 p.m. PST, and the new raids open 9 December.
- Check what changed at launch. Read your class guide again in launch week; beta details can still change.
What We Do Not Know Yet
- The experience curve compared with Classic.
- Final talent layouts and numbers for every class.
- The gold cost of riding at 40 and 60.
- Official level ranges for eight of the nine new dungeons, and for Shen'dralas.
- Which original dungeons and raids are open at launch, and whether Molten Core and the other original raids open later.
- Whether the group finder forms groups for you or only lists them.
Forever is new, and this guide is updated as launch details are confirmed.